30 Jan 2012 4:34 PM

“TheGrio’s 100” List Features African-American Industry Leaders and Will Be Featured on NBC News, MSNBC and msnbc.com Throughout February

NEW YORK, NY - January 31, 2012 – In celebration of Black History Month, THEGRIO.COM announced “TheGrio’s 100” list on NBC News’ “Today” show this morning. The exclusive list honors Black History Month by highlighting the next generation of African-American history makers and industry leaders who are making a difference in the lives of all Americans. The 100 individuals selected come from various fields of work, including business, education, sports, science and the environment, media, service and activism, politics, health, pop culture, and the arts.

The “TheGrio’s 100” will be profiled on NBC News platforms, including “NBC Nightly News,” “Today,” MSNBC and msnbc.com, throughout the month of February. Fans can also check out more about “TheGrio's 100” on TheGrio's facebook page:HTTP://WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/THEGRIO and on Twitter @thegrio with the hashtag #thegrios100.

TheGrio’s editorial team selected the 100 individuals with input from a group of experts and NBC News affiliates from across the country. David Wilson is the executive editor of TheGrio.com.

The full list of "TheGrio's 100" is below with links to each honoree profile.

Alonzo Washington
Garth Fagan
Jeff Henderson
Katori Hall
Kevin Olusola
Korto Momolu
Misty Copeland
Radcliffe Bailey
Ryan Speedo Green
Tarell Alvin Mccraney

Bryan "Birdman" Williams
Dhani Jones
Dr. Dre (Andre Young)
Felecia Hatcher
George Andrews
Jermaine Griggs
Jess Moore
Leanna Archer
Michael V. Roberts
Torrence Boone

Bonita Carr, PhD
Chandra Gill
John Hunter
Karma Bridges
Kevin Clash
Levar Burton
Nnamdi Asomugha
Traci Lester
Tiya Miles
Tyrone Curry

Afam Onyema
Ali Smith, Atman Smith, and Andres Gonzales
Ashley Hicks & Toni Carey
Bryant Terry
Chazz Darby
C.J. Senter
LaNiyah Bailey
Maimah Karmo
Valerie Montgomery Rice
Dr. Sandra Tucker

Carol Jenkins
Cheryl Pearson-McNeil
Chris Broussard
Deanna Sutton
DeVon Franklin
Desiree Rogers
Yvette Miley
Janet Mock
Melissa Harris-Perry
T.J Holmes

Alvin Brown
Angella Reid
Ayanna Pressley
Cheryl Mills
Frederica Wilson
Jennifer Caroll
Kevin N. Lewis
Patrick Gaspard
Rep. Yvette Clarke
Van Jones

Christopher “Frank Ocean” Breaux
Issa Rae
Kevin Hart
Maya Rudolph
Mara Brock Akil
Nitty Scott
Octavia Spencer
Roblè Ali
Tracee Ellis Ross
Willow Smith

Angela Benton
Aton Edwards
Anthony Fraiser
Chinedu Echeruo
Chuck Baker
Corvida Raven
Daniell Washington
Doyle Beneby
Jana Johnson
Mc Hammer

Alie Kabba
Andrew “Bo” Young III
Brenda Combs
Christopher "Ludacris" Bridges
Elisabeth Omilami
Jason Taylor
Marcia Anderson
Nicholas Cobb
Sonya Arrington
Tamika Mallory

Anthony Robles
Cam Newton
Jonathon Prince
Ibtihaj Muhammad
Jon “Bones” Jones
Justus Williams
Laurel J. Richie
Nicole Lyons
Nigel Sylvester
Tia Norfleet

About TheGrio.com
TheGrio.com, a division of NBC News, is a daily online news and opinion platform devoted to delivering stories and perspectives that reflect and affect African-American audiences. The video-centric interactive community is populated with both aggregated and original content on topics ranging from breaking news and politics to health, business, and entertainment.


For more information contact:

Meghan Pianta
NBC News
e: meghan.pianta@nbcuni.com

Members of the media can get more information about NBCUniversal and its programming on the NBCUniversal Media Village Web site at www.nbcumv.com.
Follow us on Twitter @NBCNewsPR.